Make your own free website on

Highlights of 735 Squadron

The Highlights of 735 Squadron as told by former CO, Capt. Fred Hopkinson.

735 Squadron was originally formed in Ancaster on May 21, 1963 by Eric Walker, who was the first C.O. The sponsor was the Optimist Club of Ancaster. Flight Lieutenant Jerry Sabourin became the second C.O. and, in 1965, as a result of a move to start another squadron in Dundas it was decided to join forces. The squadron became Dundas-Ancaster, moved to Dundas and Squadron Leader Stuart Winn became the third C.O. The sponsors were the Ancaster Optimist Club, Dundas Air Force Club and Dundas Legion. (Incidently we had all the commanding officers with the exception of F/L Eric Walker, whom we were unable to locate, at the last reunion which is now some years ago.)

I took command from S/L Winn in 1970 and served as C.O. until 1979 when I turned the squadron over to Captain Phil Watson and joined the sponsoring committee as chairman. (I am still a member of the sponsoring committee) At the same time I became a director of the Ontario Provincial Committee of the Air Cadet League, served as Provincial Chairman from 1986 to 1988 and currently am a member of the OPC Executive Committee and Chair of the OPC Aviation Committee.

In 1985 I became a director of the Air Cadet League of Canada, was President of the League for 1996/97 and currently serve as a member of the National Flying Committee, Chair of the Nominating Committee and Member of the Advisory Board.

735 (Firebird) Squadron Alumni